Close a tab for a Student

This article is for Teachers 

Close Tab is a Classwize feature that lets you immediately close any active or background tab on a student’s Chrome browser.

Important

  • The Close Tab feature is available only at schools using the Linewize Connect extension. The extension works with both Edge and Chrome on Windows devices with Companion mode. In Companion mode, you can close tabs from the Student Tile and List View but not from Live View. Closing tabs from Live View is a feature supported only on Chromebooks.
  • Close Tab is an optional feature that your school IT Support must turn on. If you don't see this feature in Classwize, contact your IT Support for assistance.

Closing Tabs from different Classwize views

You can close a tab from Screen View, List View, and Live View.

The tab will close immediately, and if the student:

  • Has other tabs open, the next open tab will appear on their student tile and they will receive a notification that a tab was closed for them.

a-tab-was-closed-by-your-teacher.png

Image 1: The “A tab was closed by your teacher” Notification

  • Has no other tabs open, The Tab Closed screen will appear on their browser window and their student tile.

tab-closed-20230427__1_.png

Image 2: The Tab Closed Screen

 

Closing a tab from Screen View

In Screen View, student tiles show screenshots of students’ active Chrome tabs. To close a student’s tab from Screen View:

  1. Select Screen view on the View selector on the class toolbar.
  2. The student tile will show screenshots of the student’s active tab. Select the X on the top right of the screenshot.

student-tile-screen-view-close-icon.png

Image 3: Closing a tab from Screen View

Info

To close hidden background tabs, select + icon, and the Open Tabs window will appear showing all other hidden tabs. Select the X for each tab that you want to close.

kaylee-wright-background-tabs.png

Image 4: The + Icon in Screen View

 

Closing Tabs from List View

  1. Select List view on the View selector on the class toolbar.

select-list-view.png

Image 5: Select List View

  1. The student tiles will show open tabs as lists. Select the X for each tab that you want to close.

list-view-close-tab-20230427.png

Image 6: Closing a tab from List View

Info

To close hidden background tabs, select Show All and the Open Tabs window will appear showing all other hidden tabs. Select the X for each tab that you want to close.

danielle-bernard-background-tabs.png

Image 7: Show All button in List View

 

Closing Tabs from Live View

  1. Open Live view by selecting:
    1. The Screenshot on the student tile if you’re on Screen view.
    2. The Title of the tab on the student tile if you’re on List view.
  2. The Live View window will pop up. Select the Close icon (X) on any tabs you want to close.

close-tabs-from-live-view.png
Image 8: Closing Tabs from Live View

  1. Close Live View to return to the classroom view. 

Tip

If the Close icon (X) doesn’t appear on the inactive tabs, you can:

  • Select that tab. The selected tab will show the Close icon.
  • Zoom out your screen by pressing the CTRL and dash (-) keys ( and - for macOS) on your keyboard until the icon appears. Press CTRL and zero ( and 0 macOS) to zoom back to the actual screen size.

See Using Live View for more information on how Live View works.

 

Closing Tabs from the Restricted Websites and Applications Window

  1. In Screen View or List View, select View restricted/website/app
  2. The Restricted Websites and Applications window will appear, select the Close icon (X) on any tabs you want to close.

Restricted Websites and Applications Window.png

Image 9: Closing Tabs from Restricted Websites and Applications

 

Blocking students from reopening closed tabs

You can try these solutions to prevent students from reopening closed tabs.

Create a Blocked Rule

You can create a Blocked Rule to permanently stop the student from opening the closed sites or URLs. You can create Blocked rules from Live View, the Open Tabs dialog and the Rules menu on the class toolbar.

See Adding, Editing and Removing Classwize Rules for more information about using Classwize Rules.

Start a Focus session

You can also turn on Focus to stop students from opening new tabs. See Adding Focus Sessions for more information on how to Focus your students’ internet activity while your class is in session.

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful
Share

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.