If you see a message saying “[X] students managed by another class”, those students are currently in a different class. Only one set of rules applies to a student's internet filtering and tools at a time.
What this means for your class
If you see this message, another teacher’s class started before yours and is currently managing that student’s internet filtering and tools.
While another teacher is managing a student:
Your rules won't apply: Rules you have set will not affect that student.
Classroom Manager Tools are unavailable: You can’t use Focus, Pause Internet, Open Tab, or Chat for these students until they are under your management.
Screen visibility: You keep monitoring access to view student screen activity via their Student tile and Live View.
Claim a student
You can take control of a student currently managed in another class using the Claim Student button on their Student tile.
Select Claim Student to:
Instantly take over management of the student.
Override any previous class Rules.
Apply your specific Focus and Rules immediately.
Release a Student
When Classroom Manager detects that a student is in more than one active class, the managing teacher's Student tile will display a Switch to monitor only icon in the top right
You will see the Switch to monitor only icon in two situations:
Another class starts after yours: You started your class first, and another teacher then starts a class containing the same student.
You take over a student: You select Claim Student to take over managing a student who is active in another running class.