What happens during a Focus session

Focus works differently depending on the device type or mode and whether the student uses a default or a non-default browser. For Focus to work as intended, we recommend having just the default browser on students’ devices.

Chromebook

Focus event Result
When a Focus is edited by removing or adding focus resources
  • Existing unedited focused tabs remain.
  • Edits apply, edited tabs are deleted or added.
When a focus ends
  • Any tabs open before Focus start to reappear.
  • Any Focus tabs remain open.
  • All block pages created during the focus close.
Full path focus
  • The full path will open, but students can access the domain and subdomain.
When a focus is started with no browsers open
  • Focus will begin within 10 seconds of the student opening the browser.
When a focus is started with a Chrome Browser open and existing tabs open. (All focus items have open tab box checked)
  • Open tab(s) will be hidden and replaced by the focused tab(s) if they do not match the focus.
  • Chrome will open the Focus sites in new tabs.
  • Non-Focus tabs will close immediately.
  • Classwize blocks non-Focus resources.
  • Focused YouTube videos will open in full-screen mode.
  • Google Docs and Drive will open in two (2) tabs - one for Drive and one for Docs.
  • Students can open new tabs if they match the focus resources.
  • If the student closes and reopens the browser, it may take up to 60 seconds for Classwize to re-apply focus.
When a focus is started with a Chrome Browser open and existing tabs open.
(All focus items have open tab box un-checked)
  • Open tab(s) will close immediately if they do not match the focus.
  • Students can open new tabs if they match the focus.
  • Classwize blocks non-Focus resources.
  • Focused YouTube videos will open in full-screen mode.
  • If the student closes all of the focus tabs, the browser will remain closed.

 

Windows Companion Mode

Focus event Result
When a Focus is edited by removing or adding focus resources
  • Existing unedited focused tabs remain edits apply, edited tabs are deleted or added.
When a focus ends
  • Student receives a message popup:
    "Your teacher has removed the focus limitation on your classroom, you may now browse the internet."
  • Any tabs that were open prior to the focus starting reappear.
  • Any Focus tabs remain open.
  • All block pages created during the Focus close.
Full path focus
  • The full path will open, but students can access the domain and subdomain.
When a focus is started with no browsers open
  • A message appears on the student's device:
    "The classroom has been focused by your teacher, and the website they want you to visit has been opened in your browser."
  • The default companion browser will open, and the Focus resource(s) will open in a new tab(s).
When a focus is started with a Chrome Browser open and existing tabs open. (All focus items have open tab box checked)
  • A message appears on the student's device:
    "The classroom has been focused by your teacher, and the website they want you to visit has been opened in your browser."
  • Open tab(s) will be hidden and replaced by the focused tab(s) in the default browser
  • Chrome/Edge will open the Focus sites in new tabs.
  • Non-Focus tabs will close immediately.
  • Classwize will block non-Focus resources.
  • Focused YouTube videos will open in full-screen mode.
  • Google Docs and Drive will open in two (2) tabs - one for Drive and one for Docs.
  • Students can open new tabs if they match the Focus.
  • Sites that auto-redirect will automatically close, and the Focus sites will automatically reopen.
  • If the student closes and reopens the browser, it may take up to 60 seconds for Classwize to re-apply focus.
When a focus is started with a Chrome Browser open and existing tabs open.
(All focus items have open tab box un-checked)
  • A message appears on the student's device:
    "The classroom has been focused by your teacher, the website they want you to visit has been opened in your browser."
  • Non-Focus tabs will close immediately.
  • Classwize will block non-Focus resources.
  • Focused YouTube videos will open in full-screen mode.
  • Students can open new tabs if they match the Focus.

 

Connect for Windows and Mac

Focus event Result
When a Focus is edited by removing or adding focus resources
  • Existing unedited focused tabs remain.
  • Edited tabs are not added unless Focus is ended and restarted.
  • Delete focus edits do not delete in the browser but will return a block page if refreshed.
When a focus ends
  • Student receives a message popup:
    "Your teacher has removed the focus limitation on your classroom, you may now browse the internet."
  • All existing open tabs remain open
Full path focus
  • The full path will open, but students can access the domain and subdomain.
When a focus is started with no browsers open
  • The focus will open one tab for each item in the focus in the default browser.
  • The browser will remain minimised in the system tray.
  • A message appears on the student's device:
    "The classroom has been focused by your teacher, and the website they want you to visit has been opened in your browser."
When a focus is started with a Chrome or Edge Browser open and existing tabs open. (All focus items have open tab box checked or All focus items have open tab box un-checked)
  • Focus will apply to most devices within 10 seconds, but can take up to 90 seconds
  • A message appears on the student's device:
    "The classroom has been focused by your teacher, and the website they want you to visit has been opened in your browser."
  • Existing open tab(s) on all browsers will remain open. If these are cached websites, games or videos, the content will continue to be accessible within the limits of the cache but will return a block page if refreshed and will not cache new content.
  • Each Focus site will open in a new tab in the default browser.
  • Focused YouTube videos will open in full-screen mode in the default browser.
  • Opening non-Focus resources will be blocked.
  • If a student closes a focus tab, it will not reopen.
  • If the student closes all focus tabs, the browser will remain closed.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Share

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.